The Art Of Conversation

You’d think that after 17 years I’d be pretty good at conversing with people… I’m not.

I can’t do it.

It actually terrifies me.

The cycle is always the same. I say the wrong thing, people get offended and I say sorry an excessive amount of times. My heart starts to pound and I can feel my pulse in my ears, all I can hear is a ringing sound and my brain feels like it is working in slow motion.

I honestly just don’t understand how people can talk to each other with ease. I can’t even seem to text people without something going wrong. You know in Mean Girls, Cady talks about ‘word vomit’, I get ‘text vomit’.

I don’t actually think about what I’ve typed before I send it to someone which usually results in annoyance on their part and severe stress and worry on mine. I don’t know why I haven’t learned from my mistakes yet. Perhaps I am incapable.

 

So my question to you is:

How does one converse effectively with other humans?

If you have any advice please let me know.

Love Jodie x

One thought on “The Art Of Conversation

  1. I think, as someone with a girlfriend with similar issues, that you should be yourself and let that brilliant personality shine through. quite frankly if people don’t like you for you, then they aren’t worth hanging around. you seem like a great person, with a good sense of humour and if people cant see that it is their problem. BE YOURSELF!

    Chris

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

