Angry at Idiocy

So this post was supposed to be about the brilliant Harry Potter Picnic that I hosted.

It was a brilliant and happy, fun-filled day. But honestly, I am not in the mood to write about that today. It feels wrong that yesterday I was having fun with my friends, worrying over Harry Potter trivia, and fighting to win a stupid quiz. Because today right now there are over 50 people in hospitals in Orlando, fighting for their lives. There are another 50 dead. It is likely that the death toll number will rise. The night before this Christina Grimmie, a highly talented youtuber and musician was shot at a meet and greet after her concert. She was shot by a man who didn’t even face up to the consequences as he subsequently shot himself afterwards. There will be no justice for her. Those are just the deaths we around the world have actually heard about.

I am so so angry. The thought that someone walked into that nightclub last night and opened fire on a huge number of LGBTQ+ people is to me unimaginable. Yet it happened. It actually happened.

In 2016, after fighting for equality, fighting to change opinions and fighting for the right to love who the hell we want. This can still happen. In a gay night club, where people go to be themselves in a safe environment and have fun. If a gay person cannot feel safe in a gay bar then how are they supposed feel safe in the rest of the world?

The press are calling the shooter ‘mentally disturbed’. If this is a true and accurate depiction that he was in fact ‘crazy’ then why on earth was he allowed access to a gun? The vast acceptance of guns within America is mindboggling to me. I know a lot of people argue that it isn’t guns that kill people it is the person behind said gun. But surely, if something that is designed to kill is so easily accessible it is bound to cause death. The assault rifles used in these murders are not for hunting, they are for killing.

The shooter used an AR-15-type assault rifle, which has become the signature weapon of mass killers in the US according to The Telagraph.

Jon Cozart- a youtuber tweeted this:

Automatic weapons were invented for war, to kill mass amounts of ppl. You can’t hunt with them. There’s nothing recreational about them.

I agree. The type of person who buys again is obviously fine with committing murder. Chances are, even if your excuse for obtaining the gun is ‘self-defence’, in the moment at which you decide to use the gun for that reason, you are likely to shoot to kill.

So why is it, that after countless scenarios like these recent ones, nothing has actually been done to prevent it happening in the future? So far, at the time I am writing this, 50 families are mourning the loss of a loved one due to gun violence. Another 53 are in hospital rooms and waiting rooms as they watch loved ones fight for their lives.

 

Thank you for reading my rant, I am so worked up that I’m not even sure if it all makes sense but I felt the need to express my thoughts somehow. I just wish I could do more than #PrayForOrlando because it’s really not enough.

The Harry Potter picnic post will be up at some point this week although I am not sure when yet.

 

Let me know what your thoughts on this tragedy are in the comments.

 

Love Jodie x

9 thoughts on “Angry at Idiocy

  1. I am so so horrified at this. It’s just awful that people accept guns, that people think it’s OKAY to carry around something so destructive so casually. I hate it.
    50 people dead. It’s terrible and disgusting and why is the world like this?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The world we live in is a beautiful place and it is horrible. There are so many things wrong with it and thinking about them just boggles the mind.
    Case in point: Brock Turner is charged with a 6-month sentence for raping someone and recording it and putting it online because his dad “doesn’t want it to affect his future”. Well it’s affecting someone else’s future, that’s for sure. People are getting killed over things like race and gender and sexual orientation. Things they very can’t well help, mind you.
    And it’s terrifying because there’s nothing that makes them different from you and there’s nothing you can do to change it.
    So I just seize the moments of happiness I have and appreciate everything. Life is the longest thing you’ll ever do and it’s way to short; enjoy every moment.
    I would love to hear about your Harry Potter picnic. There will be pictures I hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read it. I appreciate it so much!
      The Brock Turner case is another thing that makes me angry- I’m thinking about writing a post about consent as a result of it.
      And also I think you’re right, I do need to seize the moment more as I probably spend too much time dwelling on things like this.
      I will definitely post about the Harry Potter picnic and there will be pictures 😂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I know. I was in church this evening, and we prayed for the bleeding Queen, but not a word about all the people who have been affected by this. I know that the Catholic church is a bit touchy with regards to sexuality, but there is no excuse for simply ignoring the fact that 50 people are dead, more will probably follow, and that families are being torn apart. It’s just wrong.
    On a more cheerful note, I look forward to hearing about the picnic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry that you didn’t get to actually pray for something as important as this
      I’m not religious by any means but I think if you want to pray for victims of a mass shooting you should be able to.
      Also I’ll get that the picnic post up soon haha x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

