Twinwood and School

Hello there!

It’s Erin

And it has just occurred to me that I haven’t updated on the blog in a while. Jodie made me realize this because she’s been uploading every day, which is pretty awesome, round of applause for Jodie!

I know that today was the first day back for a lot of schools in Britain, but luckily, myself and Jodie got today off to give the year 7’s a chance to get used to the school. so, instead of spending time at school today, I spent time preparing for school. You know, washing, sorting out my bag, dreading the inevitable state of self loathing I’ll be in for the next year. You know, the usual. After clearing out my wardrobe, and my room, I feel like there’s space in my head to think. and it’s amazing. So, now that my head is clear and I can tell you about my thoughts, I thought I’d tell you about Twinwood.

Twinwood is a vintage music festival that I was lucky enough to attend with my family last week. We were glamping in the tents provided by Brook Bell Tents (click the link, their website’s really pretty). We had two double beds, my sister and I shared one, my parents in the other. I learnt that my little sister has no respect for personal space when she sleeps, and that I need personal space when I sleep.  ANYWAY. The festival lasted 6 days in total if you came early and left late.

The festival itself is amazing. people come dressed up in their vintage clothes, there’s bars and places to get your hair done, you get to listen to live bands on 5 different stages, and there’s dance lessons for all sorts of different vintage dances. My mum and I went to the Lindy Hop lesson. And all this happens around what feels like thousands of stalls. We didn’t even see them all. I got some brilliant bits, and thanks to Sarah’s Do-Wop Do’s and The Fabulous Hair Company, my hair looked awesome all weekend. One of the highlights for me was seeing everyone dressed in their vintage finery. There was a competition for Miss and Mr Vintage UK, and the finals were held on the Sunday. The winners looked fabulous, as as well as the 13 runners up and it was a lot of fun! The absolute best part was definitely the music, though. The Bootleg Beatles were my personal favourite, they had me singing along at the top of my lungs.

I’m so glad I got to have this experience, and I wouldn’t change a thing. Although, I think myself and Lola will get twin beds next year!

14183756_10154536646757835_738847781699418557_n

 

Did you guys have a good first day back? I hope so! Let me know how yours went in the comments.

‘Till next time!

Erin xx

Leave a Reply

