I tried.

Wander through the barren bones,

the empty sockets, the rotting limbs.

Stumble over forgotten memories,

empty promises, stolen dreams.

 

Watch your step as you wade through despair, avoid hopelessness;

it will wait for you there, pounce on you there, wrap it’s arms round you there.

It will drag you downwards, keep you there, trap you there, lose you there.

 

So edge past the brick giants,

their hollow panes,

walk along the desolate lanes.

Dont run, they’ll know.

 

They always know.

 

~ Jodie  x

 

 

The Blighter’s Rock has me inspired, so I thought I would try my hand at poetry.

This is the first poem I have ever written outside of school. It’s not good by any means, but its ok.

I’m not particularly proud of it but I gave it a go- it could be worse.

 

I would love to know what your thoughts are!

Constructive criticism is not only welcome to this post, it is at top of the guest list.

 

Thanks

Love Jodie

Author: itsjustjodie

Girl, 18, Literature Nerd, Drama Queen, Harry Potter Geek, Anxiety Ridden, Social Media Addict. That's me in a nutshell really, I'm a bit of a weirdo. Outside my group of friends, people tend to think I'm too strange to interact with... But don't worry, my History teacher said that when I'm older I'll be called eccentric, not weird - that's a good thing. I've wanted to write since I read my first 3 Harry Potter books at the age of 6, impressive right? I don't think I understood it all... but I read the entirety of all three books. Which for someone who is supposed to be struggling with picture books, I'd say it's an accomplishment. I'm a Ravenclaw by the way, if you were wondering, although you probably weren't. I'm also a Daughter of Athena, Erudite and I'm from District 8. If you understand all those references, then we can be best friends. I love Alternative fashion especially 90's grunge- see my pinterest. I'm obsessed with 60s music but I love all genres really. You probably don't care but you can find me on pretty much all social media as @justjodie_x If you read this far then here is a virtual high five!

2 thoughts on “I tried.”

  1. I actually thought it was pretty cool. Loads of people try to rhyme when they’re doing poetry, but I love how yours doesn’t have a rhyme scheme. It feels kind of like a conversation, or a warning, and not constructed at all. I for one would love to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

